Job hunting anyone?

As a student who just finished university but have not yet graduated I am in a sort of limbo. I don’t know what I will be doing in August (graduation is in July) or where I will be doing whatever life throws at me. While all the fun and excitement from finishing final exams has passed, I find myself in a despair-like situation of finding some sort of sense and direction in my life.

postaboutjobs

‘That’s what you get when you study languages!’ as some of you might say, and indeed it is, since I have no intention of being a teacher and I consider the profession of a translator as plan B. I know, I could have studied something else, like engineering or law or medicine, but then, I do not really like arguing and I can’t really stand the sight of blood. While in high school, I used to have lots of ideas of what I wanted to study, but I decided to stick to languages and I can’t say I regret it, even though it wasn’t always flowers and ponies.

So, after finishing all 7 exams and handing in 4 essays in May, I have decided to start the beloved process of job hunting. I have to say, I did not expect it to be so difficult. As a student, looking for part-time jobs, most of the time you just go into a place and hand in your CV, or complete an online application – and done. This time however, it was different.

First of all, I have to know what I want to do. So after hours of deliberation (not really) I have found an industry I think I would be good at, and I would enjoy working in (which I find really important, after all it’s something I am going to do most of my time). Then, I opened my internet browser, and that’s when it hit me.

No, not the fact that I have probably just finished education. I did not know where to start. So I googled a company I know and checked their website for careers info. After not finding anything suitable, I went onto their Linkedin profile to find similar companies. And so I checked a couple of websites and found one distinctive line that appeared almost everywhere:

No recruitment agencies please.

Well, fine. I knew it was going to take some time and I have to admit I didn’t expect it to be so time consuming, but then again – the job is not going to come to me on its own. So I have to be persistent and patient.

It is not easy to find a suitable job offer, and completing an application is not easy as well, since I write and adjust everything accordingly to the offer. Another thing is, whether my application gets accepted. I have to admit, again, that it is really frustrating to spend ages writing that application, thinking I would be great at this role, and not receiving a response or getting a rejection. I don’t know which one is worse.

I wouldn’t say I am angry or I feel like I should just get a job. I understand it takes time to find a job, especially when you’re applying to a quite competitive industry, which I suppose I am doing.

There is only one thing that bothers me. How nice would it be to get some feedback on my applications?

~~~~~~

The only thing I know I have to do is to not give up. I just have to be persistent, do my best and hope for the best.

2 thoughts on “Job hunting anyone?

Leave a Reply

