No place like… London.

I know there hasn’t been a post in a long time, but there have been so many changes in my life, I simply didn’t have time to sit down and write what I wanted to. So, now that I’ve caught a cold and the only thing I do is stay in bed, I can catch up.

Today I want to blab a bit about why I love London so much…

londonc

Since I visited London for the first time in 2010, I felt like it’s a place for me. It’s not just about all the pretty buildings and streets that you can find there.

It’s also the music scene. I can only imagine all the gigs going on in the pubs from the 1960s onwards – The Beatles, The Rolling Stones, Led Zeppelin, Pink Floyd, Queen, Bowie, The Cure… I could just go on about how amazing it would be to have a time machine to see those concerts (it’s a shame Doctor Who doesn’t exist…). Even now there is a lot going on when it comes to the music world.

_dsc0881

The pretty green areas. You would be surprised how green London is (my mum definitely was). With all the parks where people run, walk their dogs, have picnics or just relax. Sometimes you can forget that you’re in one of the biggest cities in Europe.

Also, I can’t forget about all the things you can do here. The museums, art galleries, events, theatres, outdoor cinemas, concerts, clubs, pubs, all sorts of gigs… You might say that Londoners don’t do those things because they’re expensive, they don’t have time, they are done mainly by tourists. Maybe, but I think that even the possibility of doing all those things is great.

That’s not all. London is also its people. Those that don’t talk on the tube, those in a constant rush around the City, those who don’t care what you think about their appearance, those in the pubs and clubs laughing their way through the night.

It’s the diversity. I like to think that in London there is something for everyone. You can be whoever you want to and there will be something you can connect to, that will make you feel like home. That’s how London makes me feel, it’s my place.

 

 

6 thoughts on “No place like… London.

  1. I love this! I moved to London in January and have never looked back. I was so scared that I wouldn’t like living in the city but I absolutely love it. The idea of being unknown in such a big place is welcoming. People who say London is too busy have never seen the best parts of the city.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

